Exercise Motivation Friday! #8 – Keep Your Weight Loss A Secret To Those Around You (Tips/Advice)

exercise motivation 7

“Weight loss gurus usually tell you to share your goals to make you feel accountable to someone else and to garner support for the task you’re undertaking. Their reason is that if everyone, or at least someone, knows you’re dieting, you’re less likely to cheat. Maybe that’s true for some people, but for future Former Fat Girls, I say that’s risky business.I know what it’s like to feel as if someone is monitoring every bite you take or, worse, nagging you outright to exercise. It’s hard not to get resentful; it’s hard not to take every helpful suggestion and innocent question as a criticism or accusation, as a reminder that you’re too weak to do it on your own—or even that you can’t do it at all. Instead of keeping you from “cheating,” it drives you underground where you indulge in secret. That only feeds the burning shame inside you.I mean, how many times did I use the “I’m on a diet” excuse for ordering a skimpy dressing-on-the-side salad for dinner, only to turn around the next day, the next week, or the next month and polish off an entire plate of fettuccine Alfredo? Who would blame a well-meaning spouse or friend for asking, “Are you supposed to be eating that?” And who would blame you for being offended? It’s enough to make you want to order a second dessert out of spite.That’s why it’s better to stay under the radar. Don’t make a big deal about the fact that you’re exercising; just do it. As foreign as it might feel to you, try to act as if it’s the most natural thing in the world, like going to the grocery store or taking your clothes to the cleaners. Don’t announce at the dinner table “I’m on a diet” when you order a grilled chicken breast instead of a burger and fries. You don’t have to explain yourself. You just happen to be in the mood for chicken.Keeping your quest for your new life a secret will help insulate you from the scrutiny and expectations of others. I’ve found (after lots of fits and starts) that if you don’t make a big deal of it, other people will be more likely to follow your lead.”

Credit to: Secrets of a Former Fat Girl: How to Lose Two, Four (or More!) Dress Sizes

4 thoughts on “Exercise Motivation Friday! #8 – Keep Your Weight Loss A Secret To Those Around You (Tips/Advice)

  1. I personally hold myself accountable when I know others are watching. It’s then that I don’t feel like I am doing this just for me, but to also show others that it is possible. So far in my experience, I have been completely honest, down days, hard days, empowering days, and I have gotten great responces on the “realness” of it. Reality is, some days will suck, just keep going. Overall I feel like if I were to keep it to myself, I would be more likely to fall off in thinking that it didn’t matter. IDK it’s weird. GREAT POST!

  2. I agree, I always seem to do good until I start telling everyone about what I’ m doing. Once others know I tend to start slacking, I’ m not sure why. Maybe I feel since I’ve made some noticeable progress I can slack off a bit?

    • Maybe it has to do with confidence and the fact that you officially know you’ve made some progress so you don’t go as hard as you would, if you were the only one in on it. At least thats how it is for me.

Leave a Reply

