Hair Journey: Ideas For Creating A New Protein Treatment & Deep Conditioner Treatment for My Relaxed Hair

At this moment my hair has been taken out of senegalase twist that I had in since November. After taking the twist out I wet my diy protein treatment peanut butterhair,  detangled it with a wide tooth comb and conditioner.

My hair is in need for a protein treatment badly but unfortunately I can not do it right away because I have other things to do. So I am just planning out what I want to try this time around.

I usually use peanut butter as a protein treatment by melting it down. I have some pictures of how I do it that included with this post. I took them in October and never got around to posting them. The peanut butter worked great on my natural hair alone but I really want to make sure my relaxed hair gets a good protein treatment because using the chemical on it really breaks down that protein. I’ve been questioning myself whether or not  if peanut butter alone is doing such a good job of giving me a protein treatment.

I know a lot of relaxed people prefer to buy the store bought products but I like knowing whats going into my hair and being able to do everything on my own rather than relying on a product.

I’ve looked on pinterest for some protein treatment recipes. Heres the ones I have found:

  1. 1 tsp honey, 3 tsp mayo & 1 tsp olive oil
  2. 1 T water, half a pack of geltain, 1 T honey, 1 T oil, 1/2 T conditioner, 1 T yogurt
  3. 1 tsp honey, olive oil, eggs
  4. mayo & eggs
  5. mayo, eggs, avocado, coconut oil

With those recipes in mind I am going to try mixing my peanut butter with olive oil, honey (if I have some) and yogurt.diy protein treatment peanut butter banku knot-horzk

For my deep conditioner I was thinking about just adding olive oil, rosemary oil, conditioner and coconut milk. I’ve never tried coconut milk in my hair before so we’ll see how it works lol. Another recipe for my deep conditioner I thought about is mayo, conditioner, rosemary oil, with olive oil. The rosemary oil always penetrates the scalp so good I love using it although not too many people are found of the smell especially in my house hold.

Since I have time right now I am going to put these recipes to work!

-Jazzie

Leave a Reply

